Our History

The NIAE was established in 1975 as the Nigerian Society of Agricultural Engineers, NSAE, with the following objectives:

  • To promote the science and art of engineering in Agriculture.
  • To encourage original research
  • To foster and promote Agricultural Engineering education.
  • To advance in every possible way the standards of Agricultural Engineering.
  • To promote healthy interaction between members and allied professionals.
  • To encourage the enhancement of professional competence of its members.

In 1965, a group of engineers formed a society for engineers operating with the agricultural industry. These include Prof Cargil, Dr L Onafeko, Engr D. Osobu with Mr Hewit and Prof Aboaba as Chairman and Secretary respectively. Others who joined later include Mr Achike, Mr Otuyalo and Mr Solagbade. The first conference of the group was held in Benin City in 1967. Shortly after the conference in Benin, Nigeria was engulfed in a civil war for three years

Between 1970 and 1974, no formal association of Agricultural Engineers was in existence in Nigeria. In 1975, the Nigerian Society of Agricultural Engineers (NSAE) was formally formed with Prof G. A. Makanjuola as the first President. Since the, NSAE has grown from 10 people to over 3000 members. By 1999, the NSAE merged with the Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE) and there was a name change to the Nigerian Institution of Agricultural Engineers (NIAE).

With the name change, NIAE became one of the divisions of NSE and the title of the leader changed from President to Chairman.

As at May 21, 2021, the membership strength at different grades are as follows;

  • Student – 1,641, Affiliate – 803, Corporate – 2,267,  Fellows        –    154

NIAE has the National Secretariat at the National Centre of Agricultural Mechanization (NCAM), Ilorin, Nigeria while a liaison office is being put in place in Abuja, Nigeria. The affairs of the Institution is managed by National Executive Council (NEC) made up of elected executive and six regional chairmen. The regional chapters are as follows;


Zone (Headquarters)

States Covered


North Central (Abuja)

Benue, FCT, Kogi, Kwara, Nassarawa, Niger, Plateau


North East (Maiduguri)

Adamawa, Bauchi, Borno, Gombe, Taraba, Yobe


North West (Zaria)

Jigawa, Kaduna, Kano, Katsina, Kebbi, Sokoto, Zamfara


South East (Nsukka)

Abia, Anambra, Ebonyi Enugu, Imo


South South (PortHarcourt)

Akwa Ibom, Balyesa, Cross River, Delta, Edo, Rivers


South West  (Ile-Ife)

Ekiti, Lagos, Ogun, Ondo, Osun, Oyo